https://www.ci.ransom-canyon.tx.us/uploads/images/hero/Header-Contact.jpg

Municipal Court

The Municipal Court of the Town of Ransom Canyon is responsible for conducting hearings and trials, collecting fines, issuing warrants and reporting convictions for offenses which occured with the Town of Ransom Canyon all while being fair and impartial to those who come before the court.  The Town of Ransom Canyon Municipal Court handles Class C misdemeanors, traffic violations committed inside the city limits and citations issued by the Ransom Canyon Police Department for violations of City Ordinances.

Payment options: Cash, Check, Money Order or Credit/Debit Cards.  Credit/Debit Card payments may be made in person or by contacting Ransom Canyon City Hall.  All transactions and processing fees charged by the credit/debit card companies are passed on to the card user.  The additional charge is 3% of the amount of your payment amount, and you will have the opportunity to know the total, and accept or decline the charges before the transaction is completed.

MUNICIPAL COURT CONTACT:
The Court Clerk is available Mon-Fri 8:00am to 4:30pm
 
Although the Judge does not always stay at the Municpal Building, the Court Clerk can reach her as needed.  You will need to contact the Court Clerk to obtain further information regarding your citation, or to make an appointment to see the Judge.
 
Phone: 806-829-2470
 
Fax: 806-829-2680
 
Mail:
Town of Ransom Canyon Municipal Court
24 Lee Kitchens Dr.
Ransom Canyon, TX  79366
 
WARRANTS
If you fail to resolve your citation prior to the appearnace date on the citation, or fail to appear in Court as required, the Court may issue a warrant for your arrest.  You may also be charged with an additional offense for violating your promise to appear.  The issuance of a warrant carries additional fees and the punishment of the offense of  "violate a promise to appear" is a fine of not more than $200.00 Texas Transportation Code 543.009
 
DRIVER'S LICENSE RESTRICTIONS
If you fail to appear in Court as required, or fail to resolve your citation the Court may notify the Department of Public Safety to deny the renewal of your driver's license.  You will be required to pay an administrative fee of $30.00 prior to renwal of your license.  This fee is required by Section 706-006, Texas Transportation Code.
 

 

 

 

 

 SIMPLE ANSWERS TO FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

 

HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO PAY THE CITATION?  You have 12 days from the DATE of your citation.  Fines are to be paid by 5pm on the 12th day.

 

WHEN DO I NEED TO CALL THE JUDGE?  1) To discuss a dispute.  2) To make payment arrangements.  3) To sit your citation in jail.  4) Questions regarding the citation in general.  The Judge handles all these matters.

 

WHEN DO I NOT NEED TO CALL THE JUDGE?  The judge does not handle any matters regarding complaints about a police officers, that is a police department matter.

 

WHAT IS DEFERRED DISPOSTION?  This is an option to pay a flat rate and be on probation for 90 days from the date of your citation.  The citation will not show on your driving record unless you get another citation with the 90 day probation period.  This tends to be the more popular choice.  The fee is a flat fee which means you do not take a driver’s safety class.  Currently the fee is $250.00 or at the Judge’s discretion due to rate of speed.  Contact the Judge if you are a CDL license holder.

 

HOW DO I KNOW IF YOU CAN HAVE DEFERRED DISPOSTION OR DEFENSIVE DRIVING?  The State of Texas will not allow an individual to have more than one deferred disposition or defensive driving per year nor if the individual has a CDL license.

 

I WANT TO TAKE DEFENSIVE DRIVING; DOES THE FEE I PAID THE COURT COVER MY CLASS?  No, you are responsible for finding and paying for the class as well as the fee from TxDPS to obtain your driving record.

 

Click here for:  DPS DRIVING RECORD FORM

 

I TOOK DEFENSIVE DRIVING AND MY CERTIFICATE/DRIVING RECORD HAS NOT ARRIVED AND MY 90 DAYS ARE UP, WHAT DO I DO?  Send a copy of the receipt you received at the time you took the class.  This may be faxed as well.  You may also call the Judge to let her know the status of your course.

 

WHERE DO I FIND A DEFENSIVE DRIVING CLASS?  Many take the class via the internet; you can rent videos or you may find a class in the yellow page listings.

 

I LIVE IN ANOTHER AREA OF THE STATE, DO I HAVE TO COME BACK TO RANSOM CANYON FOR A DEFENSIVE DRIVING CLASS?  NO, any class taught in the State of Texas is accepted.

 

IS PAYMENT PLAN AVAILABLE? WHOM DO I CONTACT TO INQUIRE ABOUT A PAYMENT PLAN?  The Judge is the only one that can authorize payment plans.