Ransom Canyon City Council Meeting Minutes Tuesday, June 10, 2008

- 1. <u>Call to Order/Silent Meditation:</u> The meeting was called to order at 7:00 PM by Mayor Robert Englund followed by a moment of silent meditation. Council members present: Mayor Pro-Tem Ron Cox, Donna Clarke, Jack Randorff, John Schmersey and Billy Williams.
- Minutes of regular May Meetings: May 13, 2008 regular meeting minutes were approved on a motion by Donna Clarke, and seconded by Ron Cox; motion carried unanimously.

3. The Financials:

- a. The financial reports were approved with a motion by Ron Cox, seconded by Donna Clarke and carried unanimously.
- b. May Claims & Demands were approved with a motion by Donna Clarke, seconded by John Schmersey and carried unanimously.
- c. David Hettler, Auditor for the 2007-2008 year. Motion by Ron Cox to approved David Hettler as the Auditor for the 2007-2008 Budget Year, seconded by Jack Randorff and carried unanimously.
- 4. <u>Elect Mayor Pro-Tem:</u> Jack Randorff nominated Ron Cox for Mayor Pro-Tem; the nomination was seconded by Donna Clarke and carried unanimously.
- 5. <u>Presentation of Plaque:</u> Mayor Englund presented a plaque to James Overby for his years of service to the Town of Ransom Canyon as alderman.
- 6. <u>Budget Packets Delivered:</u> Budget packets were delivered to all council members prior to this meeting. Budget sessions will be Tuesday, June 24 and Thursday, July 3, 2008 at City Hall at 6:00pm instead of 7:00pm as originally scheduled.
- 7. <u>Building Review Committee</u>: The building review committee has not reviewed any plans since the last council meeting. At the last council meeting Jack Randorff reported the committee's ruling concerning the deed restrictions for Block 18. At that time the committee decided height is "measured from the lowest point of construction at natural grade. This is in agreement with both the city attorney's and city engineer's opinion." The Smith's requested 30 days to review their options with respected to the ruling. Robert Morris, Chairman of the committee, granted their request. This committee has also been meeting to discuss best practices policies.
- 8. <u>Department Reports:</u> Every department submitted written reports.
 - Administration: see written report

- <u>Court:</u> On the first issue in Judge Belair's written report concerning the stop sign citation; the individual appeared on June 10th and paid the fine.
- Operations: see written report
- <u>Police</u>: Police Chief Wayne Rawls has added the following to his written report:
 - a. The police department is working with Texas Parks & Wildlife on a beaver or nutria problem that exists. Everyone is unsure which type of animal is causing the destruction of trees. They will continue to investigate and take appropriate action.
 - b. The police department has been working with residents who were previously out of compliance with parking ordinance 07-00400. There were 67 residents out of compliance prior to the letter mailing requiring them to become in compliance by June 1st. After the mailing, there were 45 residents still out of compliance. By making personal contact with all 45 residents, they have been able to reduce that number to 12. All 12 residents are in process of coming in compliance by either applying for a building permit or making other arrangements for their illegally parked vehicles. Wayne believes that all 12 residents will be in compliance by this week. The procedure for re-peat offenders will be to issue them a ticket.
- Fire: see written report
- <u>Library:</u> see written report
- 9. Open Forum: Council was provided with an additional for their review and consideration. This is concerning the electronic billboard rules that became effective in June. A poll of the council members suggests that they want to pursue an ordinance banning these types of signs. Murvat will provide Donna Clarke and John Sims with copies of the Texas transportation Commission's adopted rule changes.
- 10. Meeting Adjourned.

These minutes approved on the 8th day of July, 2008.

	APPROVED: Robert Englund, Mayor
ATTEST:	
Murvat Musa, City Secretary	